Our Board

Principals Australia Institute is a company limited by guarantee.
The Institute's Directors are:
Anne Skipper

Anne Skipper AM – Chair

Dip Nursing, FAICD, FAIM

Anne brings to the PAI Board 30 years of national and international experience as a company director and Chair of not-for-profit, private and government organisations and was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in 2000 for community service.

As well as being Chair of the PAI Board, Anne is currently Chair of Australia’s largest not-for-profit community health service - Silver Chain - and led its successful merger with the Royal District Nursing Society (RDNS) SA. She is also a Director on the boards of Plan International (a humanitarian children’s charity), Plan International Hong Kong, People’s Choice Credit Union and Tonkin Consulting.

Her past directorship roles include Deputy Chair of the South Australian Tourism Commission, Councillor of University of SA, Director of the Qantas Foundation, Chair of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Chair of the North Western Adelaide Health Service, Chair of the Spastic Centres of SA, Chair of the International Year of the Family in South Australia, Chair of the Children’s Interest Bureau Board and other board roles. 
Anne is also an experienced and key facilitator with the Australian Institute of Company Directors, both nationally and internationally.
Rob Nairn

Rob Nairn

B.Ed, Dip Teaching, Teachers Higher Certificate, MAICD, MACEL is Executive Director of the Australian Secondary Principals Association Ltd (ASPA Ltd).

Rob has extensive experience in metropolitan and regional senior high schools particularly in low socio economic areas.

As well as being a member of the PAI Board, his other roles include:

  • Associate Professor at Edith Cowan University (Adjunct to Faculty of Computing, Health and Science) 
  • Director Australian Institute of Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL)
  • Board Chair of Edith Cowan University Applied Health Research Centre Advisory Board Director Asia Education Foundation (AEF) 
  • Board Director International Confederation of Principals (ICP) 
  • Director Edith Cowan University Education Research Advisory Board 
Stephen Breen

Stephen Breen

B.Ed, Grad Dip (Computer Ed), Grad Dip (Prof Acc)
Stephen has been in primary education for 40 years. His career with the Department of Education has included classroom teaching, deputy principal and principal positions in a number of city and country primary and district high schools.
In 2005 he was General Manager of the Western Australian Government Schools Leadership Centre.
Other roles Stephen holds include:
  • President of the Western Australian Primary Principals' Association since December 2007
  • Treasurer of the Australian Primary Principals' Association
  • Executive member of the Australian Government Primary Principals Association
  • Member of Millennium Kids, a non-profit environment body
  • Member of Board, Nature Play WA
  • Chair of The Smart Future Foundation Ltd.

Grant Bock

Dip Ed., M. Ed., MACE

Grant has had extensive involvement in school administration, leadership and curriculum over more than 25 years. He started his teaching in rural South Australia teaching at Port Lincoln and Mannum Primary Schools. He has taught all primary year levels as well as specialist physical education. He has held teaching and leadership positions at both boys’ and co-educational independent schools. He is currently the Head of Westminster Preparatory School in Adelaide.

In 2008 and 2009 he travelled with his family to work in the United Arab Emirates on a principal improvement program conducted by the UAE government. In this role, he worked with educational leaders from around the world helping the local Arabic principals to improve the teaching and learning in each school.

Grant has held a number of roles on committees and boards including Past State President of the Independent Primary Schools Heads' Association now Independent Primary School Heads of Australia and previous Chair of the Association of Independent Schools Primary Heads (SA).

Grant is married to Lisa and they have three sons currently completing their secondary education.

Rosina Hislop

Rosina Hislop

BSc (Hons), ACA, FAICD
Rosina is a board director and strategic consultant with over 20 years' experience advising businesses and government on strategy, risk management, business reviews, and finance in Australia and the UK.
She is a Graduate of the Institute of Company Directors and recently founded her own boutique management consulting firm - RH Advisory.
Rosina’s professional background includes roles as:
  • Chartered accountant
  • Partner at Ernst & Young

Other experience on Boards includes:

  • Member of the Finance Committee, the Audit and Risk Committee and the Governance Committee for Seymour College
  • Director Asia Education Foundation (AEF) Board
  • Member of the Prince Alfred College Risk and Compliance committee
  • Past Board member for Playford Trust and Chair of the Finance Committee.

Rosina strongly believes in the difference that a quality education makes to people's lives. She also has a particular interest in the rights of children in the developing world.

Julie Stenklev

Julie Stenklev – Company Secretary

Dip Mgmt, Dip HR Mgmt, Dip OH&S, CAHRI
Specialising in the strategic development and delivery of the organisation’s human resources strategy, Julie Stenklev brings with her over 25 years of industry experience in not-for-profit, government funded and commercial business to Principals Australia Institute.  

She is a Certified Professional Member of the Australian Human Resources Institute. Julie’s extensive commercial experience and knowledge of contemporary Human Resources and Change Management practices has enabled her to work across various sectors, with major companies such as, Coca-Cola Amatil (Aus), EDS, Southcorp Wines, Omega Senior Care Group and Interwork WISE Employment.

She is also a passionate supporter of her local community evidenced by her extensive volunteer commitment across local schools and sporting clubs as well as service organisations.
Further information:
Executive Officer to the Chief Executive Officer

P: 08 8394 2100